A wet day at Xmtb Round 1

Round 1 of the Xmtb Spring Series took place today at Ormeau Park.  Although the morning started dry the predicted wet weather arrived before the start of the first race.   The rain went from light to very heavy back to light again.  When all racing was finished the sun came out!!  Lots of fun in the mud.

The Under 6s had their own separate course and were cheered on by the large crowd of spectators.  The other races started at the bottom of the tarmac hill and used the traditional section of the park.  Many thanks to Belfast City Council for the use of the park.

The Under 8s had 2 laps of their course to complete.  Ethan Casey (Trail Demons CC) lead after the first lap but had to retire leaving Max Boyd (Apollo CT) to take the win, followed by Jamie Rockett (Ards CC) and Ben Shaw (Xmtb).  In the girls’ race Aoife Craig (VC Glendale) took the win with Emer Heverin (Kinning Cycles) second and Aoife Kellett (Dromara Cycling Club) third.  Next up were the Under 10s who had to complete 3 laps.  Conor Murphy (Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club) finished first ahead of Thomas McAlinden (Apollo CT) with Harry Hobbs (VC Glendale) third.  Beth Campbell (XMTB) won the girls’ race finishing ahead of Aisling Smyth (Apollo CT) and
Tori Moffitt (Phoenix CC).  The Under 12s had to complete 4 laps of their course.  Travis Harkness (Carn Wheelers) won the boys’ race with Shane Scullion (Island Wheelers) second and Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) third.  Aine Doherty (VC Glendale) had another strong finish in the girls’ race with Hannah Mullin (Trail Demons CC) giving chase to finish secon with Keela Smyth (Apollo CT) third.

After a short break the Under 14s, Under 16s and Women lined up.  The Under 16 boys set off first to complete 7 laps.  They were followed 30 seconds later by the Under 14 boys, then the women, Under 16 girls and finally the Under 14 girls.  The Under 14s had 3 laps to complete with Dean Harvey (Kinning Cycles)  finishing comfortably ahead of Ryan Skelly (Carn Wheelers) with James Campbell from the host club finishing third.  There were just two entries in the girls race which was won by Summer McGibbon (Trail Demons CC) who finished ahead of Erin Creighton (XMTB). During this race the heavy rain arrived making the course even more muddy.  In the Under 16s race Lee Harvey (Kinning Cycles) powered round the course to finish first with Alan Hyndman (VC Glendale) and Callum Richardson (Trail Demons CC) finishing second and third respectively.  In the Under 16 girls race Darcey Harkness (Carn Wheelers) crossed the line ahead of Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport) with Lily McGibbon (Trail Demons CC) third.  In the women’s race it was great to see the return to form of Claire Oakley (XMTB) who took the win ahead of another returner to racing Lisa Millar (Dromara Cycling Club) with Anne Duffy (Cuchulainn CC) finishing third.

After another short break the final races of the day took place.  Lined up first were the three junior riders, starting 30 seconds later were the Senior A race men and they were followed 90 seconds later by the Senior B race men (a large field of 46 riders).  Thomas Creighton (McConvey Cycles) had lead the race from start to finish.  The other juniors were unlikely to catch him today but unfortunately they were also hampered with retirements.  In the Senior B race
Dean Lockhart (Carn Wheelers) and Gibson Chamber (Dromara Cycling Club) had a good battle with Dean taking the win.  Graeme Elliott (Bann Wheelers) rounded off the top 3.  In the Senior A race Mark Harvey (Kinning Cycles) made his way up through the field to take the win with early leader Scott Maitland (Killinchy CC) finishing second and espoir rider Peter Davison (Dromara Cycling Club) finishing third.

Many thanks to Xmtb for hosting today’s event.   This was Round 1 of the 3 Round series with the next round taking place at the same venue on the 26 March 2017.  Thanks to the sponsor ChainReaction Cycles.

Full results here

Report by Martin Grimley

Commissaires: Martin Grimley, Lisa Millar

Belgium Project (FlickR)